E*Trade Babies Grow Up So Fast

I’m back. Miss me? No…? Hmm. Remember me? No…? Ah there you are, the few of you. Nice. I’m going to be doing the blog again, though less frequently. Right now looking at a Saturday feature, possibly I’ll add one more day. For now though on with it.

New babies, new babies. What we gonna do with new babies?

E*TRADE:

I understand that babies grow up. You run a campaign with a baby, eventually you’ll run out of time. The original E*Trade baby was magic. Cute, funny, Randy Krallman at the helm. It all worked. This commercial is funny, with the shocked face. I read a criticism of the shocked face, arguing that they should have morphed it to look more shocked. Which is idiotic. Understated is why these commercials have worked. We’ve had the overly morphed faces and that was always stupid.

I didn’t include the other new one with the baby-shop quartet. That’s walking a line of poor thought I’d rather not even get into. Right now I’d like to query about the replacement baby, which is just not as personable but hopefully will grow on me. Why couldn’t we have transitioned into the original’s friend? The one who wants to ‘flex the golden pipes?’ That baby was mad funny. This feels too sudden. You should have warmed the water by having a younger baby appear with the original a couple times first.

*sigh”

They really do grow up too fast.

Like what you read? Need a little humor in your day?
Check out my main blog at The Non-Review

Explore posts in the same categories: Advertising, commentary, commercials, Humor, Marketing

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a comment